Skip to main content

Connections I: Self and Community (LA 101) - MARCH: Book Three: Home

Resource guide to assist you in your quest for a deeper understanding of the issues that are presented in MARCH: Book Three and which you will discuss in this course.

When you see something that is not right, not fair, not just, you have to speak up.
You have to say something; you have to do something.

 - Words of John Lewis, revered civil rights leader; U.S. Representative for Georgia's 5th Congressional District, serving since 1987; and co-author of the MARCH Trilogy

The Trilogy

"Congressman John Lewis (GA-5) is an American icon, one of the key figures of the civil rights movement. His commitment to justice and nonviolence has taken him from an Alabama sharecropper’s farm to the halls of Congress, from a segregated schoolroom to the 1963 March on Washington, and from receiving beatings from state troopers to receiving the Medal of Freedom from the first African-American president.

Now, to share his remarkable story with new generations, Lewis presents March, a graphic novel trilogy, in collaboration with co-writer Andrew Aydin and New York Times best-selling artist Nate Powell (winner of the Eisner Award and LA Times Book Prize finalist for Swallow Me Whole).

March is a vivid first-hand account of John Lewis’ lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation. Rooted in Lewis’ personal story, it also reflects on the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement.

Top Shelf Comix. (n.d.). March: Trilogy. Retrieved July 25, 2017 from

"March can help a new generation understand that the arc of the moral universe doesn't just bend toward justice; humans must struggle to bend it. To read Lewis's graphic memoir... is to be reminded that what so many have taken for granted in American life today was hard fought and recently won. March calls on all of us to keep our eyes on the prize." — Drew Gilpin Faust, President of Harvard University

Published in three parts, this graphic novel helps the reader to understand the distinct phases of John Lewis' career in activism:

  • Book One: Lunch counter sit ins
  • Book Two: Freedom Rides and the March on Washington (including Lewis' most famous speech)
  • Book Three: Voter Rights, 1964 US Election (L.B. Johnson) and the 1965 March from Selma to Montgomery

MARCH: Book Three - The Common Read for Connections I

By the fall of 1963, the Civil Rights Movement has penetrated deep into the American consciousness, and as chairman of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, John Lewis is guiding the tip of the spear. Through relentless direct action, SNCC continues to force the nation to confront its own blatant injustice, but for every step forward, the danger grows more intense: Jim Crow strikes back through legal tricks, intimidation, violence, and death. The only hope for lasting change is to give voice to the millions of Americans silenced by voter suppression: “One Man, One Vote.”

To carry out their nonviolent revolution, Lewis and an army of young activists launch a series of innovative campaigns, including the Freedom Vote, Mississippi Freedom Summer, and an all-out battle for the soul of the Democratic Party waged live on national television.

With these new struggles come new allies, new opponents, and an unpredictable new president who might be both at once. But fractures within the movement are deepening ... even as 25-year-old John Lewis prepares to risk everything in a historic showdown high above the Alabama river, in a town called Selma.

Top Shelf Comix. (n.d.). March: Book Three.  Retrieved July 25, 2017, from

"March: Book Three is more than just a wonderfully executed historical account and terrific educational volume; it's a victory tale for the oppressed, an inspiration to anyone victimized by injustice, and a positive and motivational work that sings the praises and virtue of non-violence." — Comic Book Resources

MARCH - Book Trailer

Books One & Two - On Reserve at the Library Circulation Desk

Book One spans John Lewis’ youth in rural Alabama, his life-changing meeting with Martin Luther King, Jr., the birth of the Nashville Student Movement, and their battle to tear down segregation through nonviolent lunch counter sit-ins, building to a stunning climax on the steps of City Hall.

Many years ago, John Lewis and other student activists drew inspiration from the 1950s comic book "Martin Luther King and the Montgomery Story." Now, his own comics bring those days to life for a new audience, testifying to a movement whose echoes will be heard for generations.

Top Shelf Comix. (n.d.). March: Book One. Retrieved July 25, 2017 from

After the success of the Nashville sit-in campaign, John Lewis is more committed than ever to changing the world through nonviolence — but as he and his fellow Freedom Riders board a bus into the vicious heart of the deep south, they will be tested like never before. Faced with beatings, police brutality, imprisonment, arson, and even murder, the movement’s young activists place their lives on the line while internal conflicts threaten to tear them apart.

But their courage will attract the notice of powerful allies, from Martin Luther King, Jr. to Attorney General Robert F. Kennedy... and once Lewis is elected chairman of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, this 23-year-old will be thrust into the national spotlight, becoming one of the “Big Six” leaders of the civil rights movement and a central figure in the landmark 1963 March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom.

Top Shelf Comix. (n.d.) March: Book Two.  Retrieved from