LibGuides: Criminology and Legal Studies Research Guide: Home

Library Databases

A listing of all criminology and law databases we subscribe to.

Note: You will be asked to enter your MAC login and password if you are connecting from off-campus.

Criminal Justice Periodicals Index - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides text and graphics coverage for many of the titles most frequently accessed by Criminal Justice professionals plus complete indexing and abstracts for American and international journals. It is updated frequently with indexing beginning in 1981 and abstracts in 1999.
Journal of Forensic Sciences This link opens in a new window
This peer-reviewed journal from the American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) provides the latest information on the many disciplines represented in forensic sciences. The journal's comprehensive coverage includes: pathology and biology, toxicology, psychiatry and behavioral sciences, odontology, physical anthropology, jurisprudence, criminalistics, questioned documents, and engineering sciences. Full-text coverage is available from 2006 to 2016, and from 2021 to the present, with a rolling four-year backfile.
Westlaw - Thomson Reuters Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Westlaw provides access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. News and business content includes newspapers, magazines, trade journals, and company information (SEC filings). The law content includes analytical sources such as a legal encyclopedia and law reviews, and primary law sources for legislative, administrative and case law.
You will be presented with a license agreement, which you must accept, each time you access this database.

ProQuest Tutorial - Advanced Searching

Ebook Central - Expanding Your Research Options

Ebook Central (available on the Library's databases page) offers authoritative electronic books on criminology and legal studies, as well as other subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.

Besides being able to download books to your own device, some other features* include

saving books to your bookshelf
highlighting
adding notes to a page
adding bookmarks on pages
printing**
copying**

*You will need to create your own account in Ebook Central in order to use these free features. You must use your MAC email address.
**There are limits on the number of pages that can be printed and / or copied in Ebook Central due to copyright restrictions.

SAMHSA News

From the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration website (CRIM 310 - Treatment of Addiction in the Criminal Justice System)

SAMHSA Press Announcements

Timely announcements about SAMHSA programs and campaigns, data and research, funding opportunities, events, and emergency response.

Search ProQuest Central

Note: To limit a search to criminology and law resources, click the "change databases" link at the top of the search page and select Criminal Justice from the list of databases.

Search the Library Catalog

Mountlink
Search for books and audiovisual materials on criminology and law in our collection.

APA Style Guides

EasyBib.com
Get information on citing sources in APA style.
Citation Style Guides
Use this guide to find examples of citations, quick guides and useful websites for three common citation styles - APA, MLA and Chicago.

Criminology and Legal Studies Liaison Librarian

Rob Stere

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Librarian

Mount Aloysius College

Cresson, Pa.

(814) 886-6450

Subjects: Business, Criminology and Law, Information Technology