Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view a collection of streaming videos anytime through the database. Titles are viewable in segments or full video when available.
The ProQuest Central searches for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Readers with an interest in the U.S. legal system may want to take a look at the Caselaw Access Project (CAP), a massive digitization project that makes 360 years of American court cases publicly available online. This large database was created "by digitizing roughly 40 million pages of court decisions contained in roughly 40,000 bound volumes owned by the Harvard Law School Library," adding up to approximately 6.7 million unique cases with the earliest from 1658 and the most recent from 2018. Visitors can access this database through the CAP's open-access API, which the project states is "the best option for anybody interested in programmatically accessing our metadata, full-text search, or individual cases." CAP also offers a bulk download option for readers who need a large collection of cases. It should be noted that, while all CAP's data is freely available to the public, accessing the full text of a case requires registering for an account and at the time of this write-up visitors are limited to 500 cases per day. In addition to the case law database, the Gallery page catalogs creative projects that were designed using this data. Launched in October 2018, CAP is the result of a collaboration between the Harvard Law School's Library Innovation Lab and Ravel Law, a legal research company owned by Lexis-Nexis.
The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more that provides comprehensive coverage of the COVID-19 pandemic. This database places the current crisis in context with the inclusion of research related to other coronaviruses and coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS.
Gale Literary Index is a useful tool for literature research. The index is used to
determine which Gale Literature Criticism series and volume number to use to find information about the particular author or literary work of your research.
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Full text is available for many articles.
Smithsonian images, Images and 3D Modeling
Smithsonian Open Access is a database of the Smithsonian Institution’s millions of images that can be downloaded, shared and reused without the need to ask permission. This collection includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.