Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBA 150 - College Success and the Mercy Experience: Bibliography Guidelines

This resource guide presents links and information to assist you in meeting the course objectives and learning outcomes of LIBA 150 - College Success and the Mercy Experience.

College Success and the Mercy Experience

Bibliography Guidelines

Assignment Requirements

Library Information Literacy Assignment

Bibliography Guidelines for Students

LIBA 150 – College Success and the Mercy Experience

Most of the information in these guidelines is in your course syllabus.  Additional details have been added here.  Review this information carefully.  Be sure to ask your Instructor or a Reference Librarian for clarification if you are uncertain about these requirements.

Bibliography Assignment Requirements

Students are required to locate three sources on a topic that they have identified as related to a theme or issue raised in the course readings for LIBA 150.  These three sources are to be:

AND

Refer to the Library Tools Guide  for information on how to navigate the Library's Book Catalog, EBook Central and the Library's Databases.  And, of course, you can always ask a Librarian for assistance.


Before composing a bibliography of these sources, students will:

VIEW the Bibliography Tutorial, which can be accessed at the top of the right column on this page.

Consult your course calendar for the due date for this assignment.  Ask your instructor if paper or electronic copies are preferred.  If you are asked to submit paper copies of your bibliography assignment, please submit two copies.

The basic rules for formatting books and scholarly journal article citations are provided in the other column on this page. If you have questions, please refer to any of the following resources or individuals:

  • The MLA Handbook, 8th edition – Copies at Reference Desk, in-library use only
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (“APA Manual”), 7th edition – Copies at Reference Desk, in-library use only
  • Citation Style Guides – a Library LibGuide
  • The Owl at Purdue, MLA Formatting and Style Guide
  • The Owl at Purdue, APA Formatting and Style Guide
  • Writing Consultant, Dr. Chris Burlingame – make an appointment through Tutor Trac
  • A Librarian – no appointment necessary.

Books are to be located using either the library’s online book catalog or ProQuest EBook Central.  Journal articles are to be located in the Library’s databases.

Sources found in other locations, for example, the open internet, Amazon or Google Scholar, will not be accepted.

NOTE: The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) is an outstanding, reliable resource.  Familiarize yourself with what else OWL has to offer, in addition to Formatting and Style Guides.  It will be useful in many of your other courses.

Style Manuals

 

Available at the Reference Desk for In-Library Use

WHY DO WE NEED BIBLIOGRAPHIES?

 

  • To acknowledge the work of others
  • To allow our readers to find the original sources easily
  • To trace the development of ideas
  • To verify facts
  • To avoid plagiarism

Bibliography Tutorial

Tutorial for

Bibliography Assignment

PLEASE VIEW THIS POWER-POINT PRESENTATION IN THE SLIDE SHOW VIEW SO THAT YOU CAN HEAR THE AUDIO PORTION.


Be sure to note any differences between MLA and APA.

Choose the one that is used in your discipline.

Sample Bibliography Entries

The examples provided here are the most basic ones you will encounter. You will need to check a style guide for those with variations on these elements, such as resources with more than one author or an edited book.

Bibliographic entries are to be double spaced.  All lines after the first line of each entry in your bibliography should be indented 5 spaces from the left margin.  This is called a hanging indentation.  Bear this in mind when you create your own list of references or a works cited page.  Because of the software used in this program (LibGuides), it is not always possible to get this element just right in the examples below.

Bibliography entries should be alphabetized by the last name of the first author of each work.  If a work has more than one author, list the authors in the citation in the same order that they appear on the work.

Basic Book Citations

Basic Book Format – MLA

 The author’s name or a book with a single author's name appears in last name, first name format.
 The basic format for a book citation is:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

Book with One Author – MLA

Palmer, Parker J. The Courage to Teach: Exploring the Inner Landscape of a Teacher’s Life. Jossey-Bass, 1998.

Basic Book Format – APA

Author’s names are inverted (last name first); give the last name and initials for all authors of a particular work..The basic format for a book citation is:

Last name, first initial. Second initial. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for first word of subtitle.  Publisher.

Book with one Author – APA

Palmer, P. J. (1998). The courage to teach: Exploring the inner landscape of a teacher’s life. Jossey-Bass.

Basic Scholarly Journal Citations

An Article in a Scholarly Journal from a Database - MLA

Cite the author and title of article as you normally would.  Then, put the title of the journal in italics. Include the volume number (“vol.”) and issue number (“no.”) when possible, separated by commas. Finally, add the year and page numbers.  In addition, for this particular assignment, add the database name (in italics), the DOI OR URL and the date of access.

Author (s). “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages. Name of Database, doi OR url.  Date of Access.

Clinton, Catherine. “Southern Women and the Civil War.” Journal of Women’s History, vol. 8,no.3, Fall 1996, pp. 163-168. Project Muse, doi: https://doi.org/10.1353/jowh.2010.0503. Accessed 24 August 2020.

An Article in a Scholarly Journal from a Database - APA 

APA style dictates that authors are listed with the last name followed by initials; publication year goes between parentheses, followed by a period. The title of the article is in sentence-case, meaning only the first word and proper nouns in the title are capitalized.  The periodical title is to be entered in title case and is followed by the volume number which, with the title, is also italicized.  If available, the issue number is included next in parentheses and in regular font.  Add the page range, followed by a period. In addition, for this particular assignment, add the database name (in italics), the DOI OR URL and the date of access (as in the example below).

Author (s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number, (issue #), pages. Name of database, doi OR url. Date of Access.

Clinton, C. (1996). Southern women and the Civil War. Journal of Women’s History, 8,(3), 163-168. Project Muse, doi: https://doi.org/10.1353/jowh.2010.0503.  Accessed 23 August 2020.

These sample citations are adapted from The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab).

Cross of the Sisters of Mercy, from a devotional print, ca. 1920

Usage Information