Skip to main content

LA 150 - College Success and the Mercy Experience: Student Success

This resource guide presents links and information to assist you in meeting the course objectives and learning outcomes of LA 150 - College Success and the Mercy Experiance

College Success and the Mercy Experience

Student Success

Tools for Success

Web Resources - Time and Stress Management

Web Resources - Study Skills

Videos to Help You Build Skills

FILMS ON DEMAND DATABASE

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view a collection of streaming videos anytime through the database. Titles are viewable in segments or full video when available.  Access this database through the "Articles/Databases" button on the Library home page.

There is a wide selection of videos available on study skills and related topics.  Search for the following:

  • Reading improvement (12 minutes)
  • Sleep and the College Student (11 minutes)
  • This Way to an A: Effective Study Skills (27 minutes, can be viewed in shorter segments)
  • 10 Study Tips (8 minutes)
  • Communication Essentials: A Four-part series - Reading (20 minutes); Writing (23 minutes); Speaking (25 minutes) and Listening (22 minutes)

Once you are in the database, you will certainly find other titles that will interest you.  Remember this resources for use in your other classes as well.

LA 150 - Top 10 Things First-Year Students Should Know

LA 150 – Top 10 Things First-Year Students Should Know*

There is much useful information on this LibGuide for taking notes, dealing with time and stress management, developing study skills and taking tests, etc.  All of this is really important, but it is perhaps not as practical as you would have liked.  

What do students really need to know to get through a day at Mount Aloysius? What tips will make life at college easier? Here’s a list of more basic day-to-day items, a top ten – in no particular order – of things that you ought to know sooner, rather than later.  You may have heard about some of these already but we thought that it would be helpful to put them altogether in one short list.  

  1. Canvas

Get to know it, use it often, make it your very best friend. It is your lifeline to coursework. Just remember – Canvas is a computer based program and it will have technical issues every so often. Especially just before a paper is due or that test was supposed to be submitted. That means that you shouldn’t blame Canvas when your papers are late. It didn’t procrastinate to the last minute.Contact Ms. Lauren Coakley, Education Technologies Coordinator, for assistance, at <lcoakley@mtaloy.edu>.  Her office is located in the Library.

  1. MAC Text Messaging Alert System

They weren’t kidding in Orientation. Sign up. First snow day – you’ll get a text, phone call, e-mail – whatever you signed up for. Once you check it – you can roll over and either get a few more zzzz’s (Late Start) or a lot more zzzz’s (NO CLASSES!).Log-in to the Portal Page and then check the Help tab for information and directions to subscribe to the MAC Text Messaging Alert System.

  1. About the Portal Page

This page is really important.It would be a good idea to spend some time familiarizing yourself with it.Be sure to log-in so that you will be able to see all the campus resources that can be accessed here.

  1. Student ID

Get one! You’ll need it at the Library and at the Wellness Center.Commuter students can add money to it to use in the cafeteria; for resident students, it literally is your meal ticket as well as a key to your dormitory.Carry it with you. Don’t lock in your car. Contact Campus Police and Security with any questions about this all-important card.

  1. Library

When it comes to research papers – go there for help. The Reference Librarians will work with you on choosing and refining a research topic or question and in locating appropriate resources.You will need your student ID to check library materials or items that faculty have put on Reserve for specific courses.There are quiet study carrels on the second floor and group study rooms, available on a first-come, first-served basis, on the first floor. The Library is website at <https://www.mtaloy.edu/library/>.

  1. Interlibrary Loan

This service is awesome and it is free.If you identify a book that you need that is not in the Library or an article that is not full-text in the Library’s databases, just fill out an electronic request, which is located on the Library website.Books usually take about a week to ten days.Articles come in more quickly as they are delivered electronically to your College email address.

  1. Learning Commons

Located in the Library, this is the best place on campus for help from tutors. If you have a problem in Math, Writing or Sciences – go there. Schedule an appointment or take advantage of special drop-in hours. It’s free for all students. There is more detailed information on the Library website.Be sure to watch for details about Study Nights – one of the greatest events on campus!

  1. Smoking and Smokeless Tobacco

The use of tobacco and tobacco related products is prohibited in all campus facilities in order to lessen fire and health related hazards.Additional information is available on the Portal Page under MAC Policies-Documents.

  1. Visitor and Faculty/Staff Parking Lots & Spaces:

‚ÄčStudents are not visitors, faculty or staff (usually). These spots have signs marking them. Don’t park in them.

Handicap Parking: Don’t borrow your mom, dad, grandparents or anyone else’s tags so you can park close to the building.  If you are a resident student, make sure you park in the area designated for your dorm.  Failure to comply with these parking regulations will result in your being issued a parking ticket and a fine.  No doubt, you can imagine better ways to spend your money.

  1. You Can Do It Attitude

Find the time to laugh and have a little fun. Make new friends. Take risks you might not normally take. Try new things. College is what you make it, so make it your best adventure yet.

Research Study on Test Anxiety

Study finds that writing about test anxiety in advance of a test helped students achieve increased scores.

This article from Science News summarizes research conducted by psychologists Gerardo Ramirez and Sian Beilock on a test preparation technique found to be successful for high school and college students.  The researchers found that writing about test anxiety in advance of a test helped students achieve increased scores.

Here is a link is the actual research article, published in the January 14, 2011, issue of Science, that is cited in the above news article from Science News..

What differences do you observe in these two articles in terms of language and content?  Describe what you think is the purpose and intended audience of each article.

Cross of the Sisters of Mercy, from a devotional print, ca. 1920
Usage Information