Skip to main content

LA 150 - College Success and the Mercy Experience: Bibliography Guidelines

This resource guide presents links and information to assist you in meeting the course objectives and learning outcomes of LA 150 - College Success and the Mercy Experiance

College Success and the Mercy Experience

Bibliography Guidelines 

Assignment Requirements

Library Information Literacy Assignment

Bibliography Guidelines for Students

LA 150 – College Success and the Mercy Experience

Fall 2018

Most of the information in these guidelines is in your course syllabus.  Additional details have been added here.  Review this information carefully.  Be sure to ask your Instructor or a Reference Librarian for clarification if you are uncertain about these requirements.

Bibliography Assignment Requirements

Students are required to locate three sources on a topic that they have identified as related to a theme or issue raised in the course readings for LA 150.  These three sources are to be:

AND

Before composing a bibliography of these sources, students will:

VIEW the Bibliography Tutorial, which can be accessed through the LA 150 Resource Guide at <https://libguides.mtaloy.edu/la150> or from the “Resources-Research” button on the Library home page.

Consult your course calendar for the due date for this assignment.  Upload your completed bibliography to your e-portfolio for this course in Google sites.

The basic rules for formatting books and scholarly journal article citations are provided in the other column on this page. If you have questions, please refer to any of the following resources or individuals:

  • The MLA Handbook, 8th edition – Copies at Reference Desk, in-library use only
  • Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (“APA Manual”), 6th edition – Copies at Reference Desk, in-library use only
  • Citation Style Guides – a Library LibGuide
  • The Owl at Purdue, MLA Formatting and Style Guide
  • The Owl at Purdue, APA Formatting and Style Guide
  • The Little Seagull Handbook, third edition, available on Reserve at the Circulation Desk, in-library use only
  • Your Instructor
  • Writing Consultant, Mr. Chris Burlingame – make an appointment through Tutor Trac
  • A Librarian – no appointment necessary.

Books are to be located using either the library’s online book catalog or ProQuest EBook Central.  Journal articles are to be located in the Library’s databases.

Sources found in other locations, for example, the open internet, Amazon or Google Scholar, will not be accepted.

The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab) is an outstanding, reliable resource.  Familiarize yourself with what else OWL has to offer, in addition to Formatting and Style Guides.  It will be useful in many of your other courses.

Style Manuals

 

Available at the Reference Desk for In-Library Use 

WHY DO WE NEED BIBLIOGRAPHIES?

  • To acknowledge the work of others
  • To allow our readers to find the original sources easily
  • To trace the development of ideas
  • To verify facts
  • To avoid plagiarism

Biblography Tutorial

Sample Bibliography Entries

The examples provided here are the most basic ones you will encounter. You will need to check a style guide for those with variations on these elements, such as resources with more than one author or an edited book.

All lines after the first line of each entry in your bibliography should be indented one-half inch from the left margin.  This is called a hanging indentation.  NOTE: It is not possible to indent the second and subsequent lines in citations using this software so these examples below are incorrect in that regard.  Remember to indent in your own citations.

Bibliography entries should be alphabetized by the last name of the first author of each work.  If a work has more than one author, list the authors in the citation in the same order that they appear on the work.

Basic Book Citations

Basic Book Format – MLA

 The author’s name or a book with a single author's name appears in last name, first name format.
 The basic format for a book citation is:

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. Publisher, Publication Date.

Book with One Author – MLA

Palmer, Parker J. The Courage to Teach: Exploring the Inner Landscape of aTeacher’s Life.Jossey-Bass, 1998.

 Basic Book Format – APA

Author’s names are inverted (last name first); give the last name and initials for all authors of a particular work for up to and including seven authors. If the work has more than seven authors, list the first six authors and then use ellipses after the sixth author’s name.  After the elipses, list the last author’s name of the work.  The basic format for a book citation is:

Last name, first initial. Second initial. (Year of publication). Title of work: Capital letter also for first word of subtitle.  Location: Publisher.

Note: For “Location,” you should always list the city and the state using the two letter postal abbreviation without periods (New York, NY).

Book with one Author – APA

Palmer, P. J. (1998). The courage to teach: Exploring the inner landscape of a teacher’s life. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass.

Basic Scholarly Journal Citations

An Article in a Scholarly Journal from a Database - MLA

Cite the author and title of article as you normally would.  Then, put the title of the journal in italics. Include the volume number (“vol.”) and issue number (“no.”) when possible, separated
by commas. Finally, add the year and page numbers.  In addition, for this particular assignment, add the database name (in italics), the DOI OR URL and the date of access.

Author (s). “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages. Name of Database, doi OR url.  Date of Access.

Clinton, Catherine. “Southern Women and the Civil War.” Journal of Women’s History, vol. 8,
no.3, Fall 1996, pp. 163-168.  Project Muse, doi: https://doi.org/10.1353/jowh.2010.0503.  Accessed 12 September 2018.

An Article in a Scholarly Journal from a Database – APA

APA style dictates that authors are named last name followed by initials; publication year goes between parentheses, followed by a period. The title of the article is in sentence-case, meaning only the first word and proper nouns in the title are capitalized.  The periodical title is run in title case, and is followed by the volume number which, with the title, is also italicized.  Add the page range, followed by a period. In addition, for this particular assignment, add the database name (in italics), the DOI OR URL and the date of access (as in the example below).

Author (s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number, pages. Name of database, doi OR url. Date of Access.

Clnton, C. (1996). Southern women and the Civil War. Journal of Women’s History, 8, 163-168. Project Muse, doi: https://doi.org/10.1353/jowh.2010.0503.  Accessed 12 September 2018.

These sample citations are adapted from The Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab).