This is the "Welcome!" page of the "Literature Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literature Research Guide  

A Research Guide to Locating Information about Authors and Their Works
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2015 URL: http://libguides.mtaloy.edu/content.php?pid=239559 Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Literature

Great literature is simply language charged with meaning to the utmost possible degree.

 

Ezra Pound (1885-1972) American poet, critic and intellectual.

 

Have you read...?

 

Library Databases

 A listing of all Literature databases we subscribe to.

Note: You will be asked to enter your MAC login and password if you are connecting from off-campus.

 

Alexander Street Literature

Description: Alexander Street Literature is a cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender, including poetry, fiction and non-fiction literature. The current collections are: Black Short Fiction and Folklore, Black Women Writers, Caribbean Literature, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Latin American Women Writers, Latino Literature, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, and South and Southeast Asian Literature in English.

Humanities Full Text - Wilson Web

Description: Provides full text articles from 1994, with their accompanying indexing and abstracts, from the following subject areas: archaeology, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literary and social criticism, music, philosophy, religion and theology.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Description: LITERATURE CRITICISM ONLINE provides access to a wide range of modern and historical views on authors and their works and includes both scholarly analysis as well as popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. The series included in this database are: CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM (v. 255-), SHORT STORY CRITICISM (v.112-) AND POETRY CRITICISM (v. 89-130). Earlier volumes are located in the Library Reference area.

MLA International Bibliography

Description: MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

ProQuest Research Library

Description: The Research Library searches for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

 

Welcome to the Literature Resources Guide

This guide is intended to be a starting point for your research on literary topics.  It provides useful information on locating books & videos, biographical information, reference sources, journal articles, literary criticism, book reviews, web sites and more.

The tabs across the top of the page will provide you with advice on how to locate all of these types of resources.

Please contact us with your questions

 

The Norton Introduction to Literature, 10th ed.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip