Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Research Guide: Welcome!

A Research Guide to Locating Information about Authors and Their Works

Literature

Great literature is simply language charged with meaning to the utmost possible degree.

 

Ezra Pound (1885-1972) American poet, critic and intellectual.

Have you read...?

 

Databases for Literature

Note: You will be asked to enter your MAC login and password if you are connecting from off-campus.

MLA International Bibliography

Description: MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Description: LITERATURE CRITICISM ONLINE provides access to a wide range of modern and historical views on authors and their works and includes both scholarly analysis as well as popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. The series included in this database are: CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM (v. 255-), SHORT STORY CRITICISM (v.112-) AND POETRY CRITICISM (v. 89-130). Earlier hardbound volumes are located in the Faculty Wing of the Main Administration Building.

Welcome to the Literature Resources Guide

This guide is intended to be a starting point for your research on literary topics.  It provides useful information on locating books & videos, biographical information, reference sources, journal articles, literary criticism, book reviews, web sites and more.

The tabs across the top of the page will provide you with advice on how to locate all of these types of resources.

Please contact us with your questions

  • in person at the Reference Desk
  • by email at askalibrarian@mtaloy.edu
  • by phone at 814-886-6478

Popular Literature Anthologies

Literature Has Its Own Special Vocabulary

 

Reading Good Literature Is Always a Pleasure

 

Additional Library Databases with Significant Holdings in Literature

Note: You will be asked to enter your MAC login and password if you are connecting from off-campus.

Ebook Central from ProQuest
Ebook Central offers authoritative e-books in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.  If you are new to this database, check out the resource guide at Ebook Central
 
Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows you to view a collection of streaming videos anytime through the database. Titles are viewable in segments or full video when available.
 
GenderWatch is a full text database comprised of periodicals and other publications that focus on the impact of gender on a broad spectrum of subject areas.
 

Description: The Research Library searches for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.