LibGuides: Psychology and Counseling Research Guide: Home

Library Databases

A listing of psychology databases we subscribe to.

Note: You will be asked to enter your MAC login and password if you are connecting from off-campus.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PsycNET
PsycNET includes both the PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES databases.

PsycINFO is an abstracting and indexing database covering scholarly books, journals, and dissertations. Most are NOT full-text. More than 2 million records from the early 1800s to the present are included, making this a comprehensive listing for information on research topics in psychology.

PsycARTICLES is a FULL-TEXT database of more than 50 journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social personality, and more.
ProQuest Psychology
This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Latest News Feeds from APA PsycPORT

Finding Journal Articles in APA PsycInfo to Answer Your Research Question

Books - Browse by Call Number

Browse the shelves at the call numbers below for information on your topic. These are some general areas of psychology that may be of interest to you.

BF 1-990 Psychology
BF 173-175.5 Psychoanalysis
BF 176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
BF 180-198.7 Experimental psychology
BF 309-499 Consciousness. Cognition
BF 501-505 Motivation
BF 511-593 Affection. Feeling. Emotion
BF 608-635 Will. Volition. Choice. Control
BF 636-637 Applied psychology. Counseling
BF 660-685 Comparative psychology. Animal and human psychology
BF 692-692.5 Psychology of sex. Sexual behavior
BF 697-697.5 Differential psychology. Individuality. Self
BF 698-698.9 Personality
BF 699-711 Genetic psychology
BF 712-724.85 Developmental psychology, including infant psychology, child psychology, adolescence, adulthood
BF 725-727 Class psychology

For neurophysiology and neuropsychology:

QP 351-495 Neurophysiology. Neuropsychology

You may also find books on psychiatry useful. Some of those call numbers are found below.

RC 435-571 Psychiatry
RC 475-489 Therapeutics. Psychotherapy
RC 490-499 Hypnotism and hypnosis. Suggestion therapy
RC 500-510 Psychoanalysis
RC 512-569.5 Psychopathology
RC 512-528 Psychoses
RC 530-552 Neuroses
RC 554-569.5 Personality disorders. Behavior problems including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse
RC 569.7-571 Mental retardation. Developmental disabilities

For child psychiatry:

RJ 499-507 Child psychiatry

Search the Library Catalog

Mountlink
Search for books and audiovisual materials on psychology in our collection.

APA Style Guides

EasyBib.com
Get information on citing sources in APA style.
Citation Style Guides
Use this guide to find examples of citations, quick guides and useful websites for three common citation styles - APA, MLA and Chicago.

Psychology and Counseling Liaison Librarian

Rob Stere

Email Me

Contact:

Reference Librarian

Mount Aloysius College

Cresson, Pa.

(814) 886-6450

Subjects: Business, Criminology and Law, Information Technology