A-Z List of Databases - Find the best library databases for your research.
ProQuest Central
This expansive database encompasses more than 160 subjects, with reliable and authoritative information from around the world. Content is aggregated from more than 17,000 publications (over 11,000 in full text) and more than 900 full-text newspapers, as well as from industry reports, company profiles, and over 50,000 academic dissertations. ProQuest Central also helps researchers stay ahead of the curve with added-value content such as conference proceedings, annual reports, medical reference books, and case studies, helping to ensure that even the most advanced users are completely satisfied with their search results.
ProQuest Central provides comprehensive coverage for these key subject areas:
Gale OneFile News - Access through POWER Library
From the main POWER Library page, locate "FIND " at the top of the page and click on "List all e-resources." Scroll down until you locate the icon for Gale OneFile News and click on it. You will be asked to log-in with either your library card or ecard number. If you do have either (or do not know your public library card number), click on the link to complete the appropriate ecard form.
Gale OneFile News is one of the databases of POWER Library: Pennsylvania's Electronic Library, a service for the residents of Pennsylvania. This e-resource provides the latest news with full-text access to over 1,600 U.S. and international newspapers, including:
Advanced searches in Google allow you to be more specific about what you are looking for. Considering that Google indexes a great deal of information, you may need to narrow your searches to retrieve quality information. Remember, oftentimes less is best!
The chart below, from Google, lists some "nifty modifiers" that can help you streamline your searches.
Sometimes when searching, you may want to combine several advanced search techniques. The easiest place to do this in the Advanced Search screen. The url for Advanced Google is <www.google.com/advanced_search>.
There is also an Advanced Google Image Search at <https://www.google.com/advanced_image_search>. Be certain to scroll to the bottom and choose from the "usage rights" drop-down menu images that are "free to use" in order to avoid copyright violations. Please read this Google Help page for an explanation of the different types of image usage rights.
By creating a Google Alert, you can get email notifications any time Google finds new results on a topic that interests you. This is a great way to keep on top of developing news stories. Check it out at <https://www.google.com/alerts>. (Requires an email address and setup.) The article "Five Creative Uses for Google Alerts" lists other uses for this product.
A complementary Google product is Google News at <https://news.google.com/>. See How News Works on Google for details.
Google Productivity Guide by 
Google Hacks: Tips & Tools for Finding & Using the World's Information by 
Properly used, statistics can add weight and interest to your news story. It is important, however, to find current and accurate sources. Before trusting the numbers you find be sure that they
Be very careful of statistics found online through a search engine. Find out where the information came from and verify it yourself. Listed here are some helpful (and trustworthy) sites.
(Note: This information on finding and using statistics and the list of web sites has been adapted from the Southern Connecticut State University's LibGuides on Journalism.) This list is not intended to be exhaustive. Try an Advanced Google search if you don't find the type of statistics here that you might need for a story that you are writing.
Research Strategies by