Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Recycling and Sustainability: Specialized Databases

Databases at Mount Aloysius College

In addition to the many databases available for research in the MAC database offerings - both across disciplines and subject specific.- we encourage you to look at the databases featured here as they are focused on issues related to the environment, including recycling and sustainability.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE

This free research database provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.  Subjects covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture renewable energy and recycling.

Content includes indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records and open-access for more than 13,000 records.  Subjects covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling.

Access to this database is provided through the main database page on the Mount Aloysius College Library page, under the tab "Articles/Databases."  Most items not available full-text in the database may be ordered by Mount Aloysius students, faculty and staff through the Library's Interlibrary Loan service.

 

 

Magazines, Reading, Journals, Newspapers

GREENR

 

GREENR (Environment, Energy, etc.)

Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (GREENR) offers researchers an interdisciplinary resource for environment and sustainability studies. GREENR provides news, background information, video, commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in relevant topic areas such as energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development. 

Learning portals create easy entry points, including:

  • Country portals covering more than 160 nations
  • Topic/issue portals in more than 150 categories, from animal welfare to wind energy.
  • Organizational portals provide overview and links to international organizations
  • More than 690 full-text journals
  • Over 17,000 audio files
  • More than 6,100 videos
  • Over 16,900 images

Access to this database is provided through Power Library, Pennsylvania's Electronic Library.  If you are not already  a registered user or do not have a Pennsylvania public library card, you must first register to get an e-card to access databases on this service.

  • Access Power Library at <https://www.powerlibrary.org/>
  • Click on "List all e-resources" under the Find tab
  • Choose any database and click on it
  • This is the log-in page for Power Library
  • Find and choose the "get an e-card now" link and proceed with your registration
  • You should now be a registered user and should be able to log-in to use any of the listed databases.